Agra Gwalior Greenfield Expressway Project Information and Updates

The Agra Gwalior greenfield Expressway, a proposed 88.4-kilometer highway by the National Highways Authority of India (NHAI), aims to provide a six-lane access-controlled route connecting Agra, Gwalior, and other regions across Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Madhya Pradesh. This greenfield expressway, with a total estimated cost of Rs. 2497.84 crore, is a significant undertaking under the Bharatmala Pariyojana program.

The Detailed Project Report (DPR) for the expressway was meticulously prepared by LEA Associated South Asia Pvt. Ltd, laying the foundation for its development. The prefeasibility report for the project is available for reference.( Click Here for PFR )

The expressway’s intended route commences from Deori Village, located on Agra’s Inner Ring Road, and culminates at Susera Village, adjacent to Gwalior Bypass. En route, it will traverse through the districts of Bhind and Morena, incorporating an interchange with the proposed Chambal Expressway spanning 408.77 kilometers.

The completion and opening of the Agra-Gwalior Expressway are projected for 2027. Once operational, it is expected to significantly reduce travel time between Agra and Gwalior, condensing the current 2-3 hour journey to merely one hour.

Also Read30 Upcoming Mega Infrastructure Projects in Uttar Pradesh

Key Project Details:

Total Estimated Cost INR 2497.84 crore
Length of the Expressway 88.4 km
Number of Lanes 6
Right of Way (RoW) To be determined
Project Status Detailed Project Report (DPR) Prepared
Land Acquisition Required 502 hectares
Deadline To be determined
Owner National Highways Authority of India (NHAI)
Project Model Engineering, Procurement, and Construction (EPC)

Proposed Structures :

Culverts 47
Minor Bridges 4
Major Bridges 5
Trumpet 2
Flyover 2
Toll Plaza 1

Also Read- 12 Upcoming Mega Projects in Madhya Pradesh

Route Map of Agra Gwalior Greenfield Expressway:

The official PDF route map of the project will be made available when released. Additionally, a comprehensive village list associated with the expressway will be provided in due course.

Agra Gwalior Greenfield Expressway
Agra Gwalior Greenfield Expressway

Interactive Map of Agra Gwalior Greenfield Expressway Proposed Route

Route Details & Village List:

The proposed greenfield 6-lane highway spans across different districts. It stretches through Agra district in Uttar Pradesh from km 0.000 to km 20.200, Dholpur district in Rajasthan from km 20.200 to km 47.200, Morena district in Madhya Pradesh from km 47.200 to km 88.250, and Gwalior district in Madhya Pradesh from km 88.250 to km 88.400.

Start Point of the Proposed Greenfield Alignment: The project corridor for the Agra-Gwalior expressway begins from the upcoming Agra Inner Ring Road near Deori village, marked as design km 0.000. At the starting point of the proposed greenfield highway section, a grade separator trumpet is planned to facilitate seamless traffic flow.

Termination Point of the Proposed Greenfield Alignment: The project corridor concludes at Gwalior bypass near Susera village, with design km 88+400. From km 85.000 to km 88.400 (endpoint), the proposed alignment of the Agra-Gwalior greenfield expressway runs parallel to the Bhind-Gwalior railway line. To ensure smooth traffic movement and avoid conflicts, a grade-separated interchange is proposed at the terminal point.

As per the highways policy under the Bharatmala Pariyojana, a single trumpet grade-separated interchange is recommended for cost-effectiveness and conflict-free traffic facilitation.

The proposed project road passes through multiple tehsils and districts, including Agra, Fatehabad, and Kheragarh in Agra district, Rajakhera in Rajasthan district, and Ambah, Morena, and Gwalior in Madhya Pradesh.

During its course, the expressway traverses several villages, including Deori, Salemabad, Kakrari, Karodhana, Phulpur, Nangla Patam, Loheta, Tor, Gohri, Babarpur, Sherpur, Sadupura, Pusenta, Darki, Mahdewa in Agra district; Nagar, Ajeetpura, Beech ka Pura, Gainhendi, Nadoli, Dhodi ka Pura, Machariya, Pahadi, Hanumanpura, Basai Kare, Jugaipura, Farashpura, Bahari ka pura, Andwa va Pureni, Chandiyan ka Pura, Kamariyan ka Pura, Cheelpura, Bakspura in Dholpur district.

Beelpur, Kuthiyana, Joha, Aisah, Lahar, Shyampur Khurd, Khurd, Dimni, Bhatahari, Sirmiti, Dongarpur Lodha, Ajnodha, Kheria Kalan, Basaiya, Kotwal, Naka, Basahari, Pilua, Biseta, Gulendra, Ranchauli, Khirawali, Ransu, Nayagaon, Gadajar, Bhakri, Pipersewa, Pinawali, Urahna, Daulsa in Morena district, and Susere in Gwalior district.

Current Status: As of December 2022, the process of land acquisition for the project has not yet commenced.

Tenders & Project Contractors

This part will be updated when the tender notices for the expressway construction are published.

Package (Distance) Contractor (Value)
To Be Declared To Be Declared
To Be Declared To Be Declared

Leave a Comment