519 Km Gorakhpur Siliguri Expressway Project Details and Update

The Gorakhpur Siliguri Expressway is proposed 4 lane access-controlled expressway, covering a distance of 519 kilometers. This highway will connect Gorakhpur in Uttar Pradesh with Siliguri in West Bengal.

This greenfield expressway, part of the Bharatmala Pariyojna (BMP) Phase 2, will run parallel to the Nepal border and pass through three states: Uttar Pradesh, Bihar (majority), and West Bengal. The land acquisition process for the expressway began in May 2022.

The completion and opening of the expressway are expected in 2028. However, the Detailed Project Report (DPR) prepared by LNM Infra Projects has not been made available online by the National Highways Authority of India (NHAI).

Also Read –30 Upcoming Mega Infrastructure Projects in Uttar Pradesh

Here are some key details about the Gorakhpur-Siliguri Expressway:

Total Estimated Cost Rs. 32,000 crore
Project Length 519 km
Lanes 4
Right of Way (RoW) Not specified
Current Status Land Acquisition, Detailed Design
Land Acquisition Requirement Not specified
Deadline Not specified
Owner National Highways Authority of India (NHAI)
Project Model Engineering, Procurement, and Construction (EPC)

Route Map of Gorakhpur Siliguri Expressway:

The expressway will be connected to the 500 km Bareilly-Gorakhpur Expressway, forming a continuous highway.

Approximately 84 km of the expressway will pass through Gorakhpur, Deoria, and Kushinagar districts in Uttar Pradesh. In Bihar, it will traverse nine districts: West Champaran, East Champaran, Sheohar, Sitamarhi, Darbhanga, Madhubani, Supaul, Forbesganj, and Kishanganj.

Also Read –12 Upcoming Mega Projects in West Bengal

Gorakhpur Siliguri Expressway
Gorakhpur Siliguri Expressway

Interactive Map of Gorakhpur Siliguri Expressway

Package and Contractor Details

As of now, the land acquisition process for the expressway’s construction began in’ May 2022. Further updates regarding tenders and contractors for its construction will be provided when tender notices are published.

Leave a Comment