Kharagpur Siliguri Economic Corridor Project Information and Updates

Kharagpur Siliguri Economic Corridor – Overview and Current Status

The Kharagpur Siliguri Economic Corridor, also referred to as the Kharagpur-Siliguri Expressway, spans a distance of 516 kilometers. This NHAI-approved road project is a 4-lane access-controlled highway, with a north-south route alignment through the state of West Bengal.

Under the Bharatmala Pariyojana Phase-II program, the construction of this greenfield corridor aims to enhance the efficiency of freight movement and boost exports by improving port connectivity.

A key component of the project is the 230-kilometer-long Kharagpur-Burdwan-Moregram Expressway. It will be constructed in five packages at an estimated cost of Rs. 12,000 crore.

While NHAI has not yet made the Detailed Project Report (DPR) available online, the completion deadline for this economic corridor is set for 2028.

Also Read- 12 Upcoming Mega Projects in West Bengal

Key Project Details:

Total Length 516 kilometers
Lanes 4
Deadline 2028
Owner National Highways Authority of India (NHAI)
Project Model Hybrid Annuity Mode (HAM)

Current Status:

The Detailed Project Report (DPR) for a majority of the project’s sections has not yet been finalized, and land acquisition has not commenced.

Route Map:

A PDF route map of the Kharagpur-Siliguri Economic Corridor will be provided as soon as it becomes available. The expressway will connect Kharagpur (west of Kolkata), Ghatal, Arambagh, Burdwan, Nabadwib, Plassey, Behrampore, Farakka, Malda, Raiganj, Kishanganj, Islampur, and Bagdogra.

Kharagpur Siliguri Economic Corridor
Kharagpur Siliguri Economic Corridor (Greenfield section Upto Moregram)

Village List (PDF) of Kharagpur Siliguri Expressway :

Kharagpur Bardwan Moregram Section- Click Here


Tenders & Contractors:

Updates regarding tender notices and contractor details will be provided in this section once published.

Contractor Status
Package 1 N/A
Package 2 N/A
Package 3 N/A

Leave a Comment