Sirhind Sehna Expressway Project Information and Update

The Sirhind Sehna Expressway, spanning 108 km, is a proposed access-controlled highway in Punjab, connecting Fatehgarh Sahib and Sehna Khera via Malerkotla, Barnala, and Bathinda. This ambitious project under Bharatmala Pariyojna Phase II (Lot-9) aims to establish a greenfield expressway, serving as a vital east-west route in southern Punjab. In this article, we will delve into the details of this transformative infrastructure development, highlighting its current status, design features, and key information.

The Detailed Project Report (DPR) for the Sirhind – Sehna Expressway was meticulously prepared by renowned firms Egis India Consulting Engineers and K & J Projects. To gain further insights into the project’s feasibility, you can access the pre-feasibility report’s PDF here.

Salient Features of Sirhind Sehna Expressway:

Total Estimated Cost Rs. 4,733.58 crore
Project Length 108 km
Lanes 6
Right-of-Way (ROW) 60m
Ownership National Highways Authority of India (NHAI)
Project Model Engineering, Procurement, and Construction (EPC)

Design Elements: To enhance connectivity and convenience, the Sirhind – Sehna Expressway incorporates several essential design elements, including:

Rail Overbridges (ROB) 1
Major Bridges (MJB) 2
Minor Bridges (MNB) 23
Vehicular Underpasses (VUP) 16
Light Vehicular Underpasses (LVUP) 30
Interchanges 8
Culverts 135

Current Status:

The project’s land acquisition process commenced in December 2020 and is currently in progress. While construction bidding is yet to commence, this significant step ensures steady progress towards the expressway’s realization. Regular updates on the construction tender notices will be provided in due course.

Also Read About-17 Upcoming Mega Projects In Punjab

Route Map of Sirhind Sehna Expressway:


A comprehensive PDF route map of the Sirhind  Sehna Expressway will be made available for reference once it becomes officially accessible. This detailed map will assist travelers and stakeholders in understanding the expressway’s alignment and its intersections with various districts.

Districts Covered: The Sirhind – Sehna Expressway traverses through five districts of Punjab, namely Fatehgarh Sahib, Patiala, Malerkotla, Sangrur, and Barnala. To ensure seamless connectivity, an interchange near Malerkotla will link this expressway to the under-construction Delhi – Amritsar – Katra Expressway, facilitating smoother transportation across regions.

Also Read –18 Upcoming Mega Projects in Haryana 


The Sirhind – Sehna Expressway is poised to be a game-changer in Punjab’s transportation infrastructure, significantly improving connectivity and reducing travel time. As the project advances with land acquisition and forthcoming construction bidding, the expressway draws closer to becoming a reality. Stay tuned for the latest updates on tender notices, as this transformative development unfolds.

Leave a Comment